Kevin Mcmahon | music director and conductor

Home   /   Concerts   /   Program Notes

Program Notes

Program notes are written by Dr. Joseph Milicia.

January 25, 2019

February 2019 Program Notes

February 2019 Program Notes Thumbnail

*IGOR STRAVINSKY* Born Lomonosov, Russia, 17 June 1882; died New York, 6 April 1971. *Greeting Prelude.* Composed in 1955 and first performed by Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony, 4 April of that year. The score calls for piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, bass drum, piano and strings. Duration: less than 1 minute.

Read the full post